Journal Entry – Writing from a different perspective

120130175649-mockingbird-1-exlarge-169

My palms were sweaty and my heart was beating faster than it ever had. Atticus told me to stay calm because if not, it would make the situation even worse. He had informed me that he thought some men would come and do bad things to me. I pretended to be asleep so the men would not consider me as a threat. I was lying down for what felt like two hours, in my cell, until finally I heard someone say “He in there, Mr. Finch” Atticus responded “he is and he’s asleep.” The men replied “you know what we want.” I knew what they wanted, me. I did not know what to do. Should I run or continue pretending to be asleep? None of these options seemed like they would help me, so I just stayed immobile, in my cell. In addition to all of that, the sheriff was not there. The intruders had driven him away.

 

Right before I thought the invaders were about to attack Atticus, a little girl came running towards Atticus. This shocked us all. the men did not know how to responds to her. A couple of seconds later, two other kids came running in. This might just have saved me from the very bad things those men would have done to me. I was so scared and confused, that I did not realize that the kids had gotten themselves in a fight with the men, and they were winning! However, this did not last long before Atticus broke up the fight. The little girl did not seem to know what was going on. She had told the leader of group that she knew his sun. What did this have to do with what was currently happening? Surprisingly, the man responded by saying “I’ll tell him you said hi, little lady.” The whole crew left afterwards. This girl might just have saved my life!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑